Moving Image Studies

School of Film, Media, and Theatre – College of the Arts – Georgia State University

Doctoral Assistantships and Fellowships

Doctoral Student Assistantships

The Communication Department believes strongly that teaching is a central component of any doctoral education, and so nearly all of our incoming doctoral students are offered a teaching assistantship.  The minimum assistantship for doctoral-level students is $15,000 for the academic year.  Additional funding may be available in the summer, but is not guaranteed.  All assistantships waive the cost of tuition and matriculation fees; however assistantships do not cover student fees, which are the responsibility of the student. Graduate teaching and research assistants also receive access to subsidized health insurance: check back here for updated information on that.

The doctoral assistantship has two components: the teaching component and the research component.  For the teaching component, the beginning graduate student teaches three break-out sections per academic year of a large lecture course, while more advanced doctoral students can teach three stand-alone courses per academic year (or a combination of stand-alones and breakout sections).  The research component of the assistantship assigns each graduate student to one faculty mentor, whom the student assists for five hours per week on a research project.

Student assistants are evaluated every year in April.  Assistantships are renewable through the fourth year of study, provided the student has successfully performed the duties of the assistantship and is making satisfactory progress toward the degree.

Assistantships are awarded to full-time students only.  All students on assistantship must register for 18 credit hours per semester: usually 9 hours of coursework, one hour of doctoral proseminar, and the remaining 8 hours in Directed Research under their assigned faculty member.

Full details of assistantship policies and procedures can be found in the Ph.D. Handbook. Download the Grad Assistantship App FY 2016-2017 here.


The James W. Woodruff, Jr., Graduate Fellowship in Media Innovation and Responsibility is awarded annually to a graduate student in Communication who intends to pursue research or creative projects related to media ethics or technology. Selection of the recipient will be made by the Department’s Graduate Committee and the Department’s Chair. Interested students should contact the Graduate Program’s Administrative Specialist for further information.

The George Greiff Scholarship is awarded annually to a journalism graduate or undergraduate student in honor of George Grieff, a former journalism professor at GSU. The Scott–Norcosto Scholarship, established through gifts from Norcosto, Inc., the Scott– Norcosto Foundation, and the Scott family, is awarded annually to an outstanding student in technical theater.

%d bloggers like this: